Martin Wins Anne K. Wallace Award

Martin Wins Anne K. Wallace Award
Posted on 06/03/2019
Martin Wins Anne K. Wallace Award

Mike Moses Middle School’s Becky Martin was named winner Monday of the Anne K. Wallace Award for Excellence in Teaching. Martin is a math interventionist and Pre-Advanced Placement Algebra I teacher at Mike Moses.

The award was announced during an end-of-year program for NISD held at Nacogdoches High School on the final day for teachers to work before beginning summer break. Teachers and staff met in the NHS commons for breakfast before moving to the high school auditorium for the program.

The Anne K. Wallace Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented annually to a Nacogdoches ISD teacher by the children of Anne K. Wallace, a longtime NISD teacher, in recognition of outstanding dedication to the instruction of NISD students and in recognition of exceptional teaching performance. It also comes with a $1,000 cash prize, which is funded by an endowment established by Mrs. Wallace’s family.

Campus and District Teachers of the Year had been formally introduced during a Board of Trustee meeting in April, when they were presented trophies. On Monday, the teachers were introduced once more.

Campus Teachers of the Year are: Sarah Barnes, Brooks-Quinn-Jones Elementary; Sydney Hampton, Emeline Carpenter Elementary; Wendy Barnhill, Fredonia Elementary; Veronica Jones, Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language; Holly Flasowski, Raguet Elementary; Teresa Garcia, Thomas J. Rusk Elementary; Terry Huval, McMichael Middle School; Becky Martin, Mike Moses Middle School; Rebecca Jaramillo, Nacogdoches High School; Alex Chandler-Ezell, Malcolm Rector Technical High School; and Dena Cox, Malcolm Rector DAEP.

Jones was selected NISD Elementary Teacher of the Year, and Martin was named NISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Retirees for NISD in 2019 were recognized in May during a dinner and reception, and on Monday, the retirees were announced once more.

They include, Riley Adams, transportation, nine years; Fannie Davis, transportation, 12 years; Teddy Farley, teacher at Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language, 17 years with NISD and 40 years in public education; Christine Fry, student nutrition, 20 years; and Lidia Harber, teacher at Nacogdoches High School, 20 years.

Also, Susan Jinkins, teacher at Thomas J. Rusk Elementary, 18 years; Lydia Pegg, teacher at Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language, 14 years with NISD and 23 years in public education; Diane Morton, speech/language pathologist, 12 years with NISD and 42 years in public education; Stephen Price, teacher at Nacogdoches High School, five years with NISD and 31 years in public education; and Bobby Reyes, head football coach and athletic director, 21 years with NISD and 46 years overall.

Also, Patricia Reynard, transportation, 11 years; Betty Sanders, librarian at Brooks-Quinn-Jones Elementary, 40 years,  all with NISD; Rebecca Spears, Nacogdoches High School, two years with NISD and 14 years total; and Charlene Wiesel, transportation, five years with NISD.

Service pins were also awarded to employees during Monday’s program based on longevity with NISD.

Those receiving 5-year pins include:

Jerquette Alexander, Maria Alvarez, Kellie Anthony, Lisa Anthony, Bryan Baize, Lisa Beale, James Carver, Ami Cecil, Hilary Cedillo, Deidre Chatman, Vincent Chatman, Jennifer Church and Antonio Garcia.

Also, Claribel Garcia, Rosalia Garcia, Cindy Garcia-Lira, Monick Gonzalez, Rebecca Gott, Stephenie Harrison, Shasta Henson, Angelica Herrera, Matthew Higgins, Heather Jacks, Jacob Jeffries and Shirley Jolley.

Also, Shaunta Jones, Tressena Jones, Cortney Kuban, Lynsey McAninch, Joann McCorvey, Nallely Mejia, Thomas Miller, Dustina Mitchell, Jennifer Opperman, Latonya Patton, Whitney Pearl, Byron Phillips and Jamien Phillips.

Also, Mary Poret, Penny Puller, Jason Ray, Emily Ripley, Donna Rodrigues, Richard Russell, Kimberly Shepherd, Susan Singer, Peggy Stephenson, Richard Summers, Sarah Swanzy, Kortney Townsend, Lisa Weems, Darlene Whitman and Carrie Wright.

10-year pins

Cicely Driver, Cousinia Jones, John Kennon, Sandra Murray, Jay Petty, Robin Thacker, Lindsey Turner and Arlene Winters.

15-year pins

Maria Almendarez, Claire Bray, Diane Brister, Kristin Heath, Deann Knox, Rossana Sanchez, Evelyn Sauceda, Maxine Symmank and Wendi Wallace.

20-year pins

Nicole Allbee, Tamara Briley, Deborah Crenshaw, Christine Fry, Teresa Garcia, Lidia Harber, Maria Marquez and Doris McDaniel.

25-year pins

Estella Haffert and Phyllis Upshaw.

30-year pins

Paula Harshbarger, Keith Hayter and Peggy Thorn.

35-year pins

Lisa Fuller.

40-year pins

Sandra Bell, Rosalind Deckard and Betty Sanders.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.